burn the land and boil the sea, you can’t take atx from me

9 Jan
super shiny

best show. ever.

So, I just want to give a shout out to the channel OVTV, which is airing the entire series of Firefly, one of the best shows ever. Granted, when a show only has half a season of episodes it’s kind of like when presidents/candidates die before their term is over/before they are elected: it doesn’t ever get a chance to let you down and you will always remember it as awesome. Unlike Glee, which I will always love but is really disappointing me this season, Firefly will always be perfect. There are problems, though, like all of my unanswered questions:

1. What the hell is Shepherd Book’s story?

2. Mal and Inara, the unstarted and unfinished love story

3. Caley and Simon, was it just sex, or did they fall in lurve out in the black?

4. Seriously, what’s up with juggling geese?

5. How did Mal get to be… well… Mal?

Anywho. They could only answer so many questions in Serenity and the two comics (which I haven’t read yet), so I’m still left with all of these questions. Dear Joss Whedon, make us a Shepherd Book graphic novel please! Thanks!

editor’s note/bloggers update: i have just been informed by the awesome Manuel that there is, in fact, such a comic in existence! check it out! Serenity: The Shepherd’s Tale

I am in that there ATX and I must say it is strange. This is a result of many different things, including (but not limited to): I graduated and moved away and therefore have no home here, a lot of my friends moved for jobs, school, and other such things, and some of the people who still live here are on vacation and out of the city. There are some things I can still count on, though, like awesome feminists, Apples to Apples skillz, and the mojo at Epoch. Tomorrow I fully intend to take even greater advantage of all Austin has to offer, one piece of which is food. Yummy yummy food.

I love New Jersey and the people I’ve met there, but the more time I spend in the sun looking out at the sprawling space, the green, the blue, the muted hipster tones and bright colors keeping Austin weird, the harder going back to New Jersey feels. It wouldn’t be so bad if there was sunshine there, and it didn’t get dark before five. Seriously.

Now I have to force myself to go to bed so I don’t die doing kettle bells tomorrow with the intense and awesome Jane.

P.S. Firefly is on hulu, and you best watch it if you haven’t already.

in sisterhood and solidarity,

me

One Response to “burn the land and boil the sea, you can’t take atx from me”

  1. Caley January 9, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    It was just sex

Leave a Reply

